Canterbury A&P Show – New Zealand Aromatic Competition

Judging for the New Zealand Aromatic Wine Competition also took place on October 15 and 16.

Chairman of judges Terry Copeland agreed that the winemaking style was evident in the wines on show.

Mr Copeland said that from over 316 entries, 27 gold medals were awarded and judges were impressed with the diversity of the wines.

“We found that there was a greater diversity of style this year – we rewarded a lot more types of wines than ever before. It was great to see a huge variety of vintages as well which means we’re  starting to see longevity in aromatic style – this can only be a good thing for the industry and the consumer.”

Other trophy winners were: Champion Riesling – TOHU Single Vineyard Riesling 2015, Champion Canterbury Wine – Waipara River Estate Riesling SVR 2012, Champion Sauvignon Blanc – Villa Maria Reserve Wairau Valley Sauvignon Blanc 2016, Champion Pinot Gris – Baby Doll Pinot Gris 2016, Champion Gewürztraminer – 2016 Hunters Gewürztraminer, Champion Rosé – Matawhero Pinot Rosé 2016 and Champion Other Aromatic – Saint Clair Marlborough Premium Gruner Vetliner 2015.

The judging panel consisted of: Terry Copeland (Chairman of Judges), Sam Kim, Jim Harre, Kate Radburnd, Petter Evans, Jane Boyle, Jane Cooper and Paul Harre (Associate Judge).

Twenty-seven gold, 73 silver and 123 bronze medals were awarded. All winning wines will be on display in the new Food and Wine Village at the 2016 Canterbury A&P Show from 9 to 11 November at ASB Agricultural Park. Full results are available online at: